A journal of healing

The Wall

reaaching
I have been accused of being a highly sensitive person. It is not a compliment. It means I react to things that others can let go. I feel too much. It is true and I have been this way my whole life. So maybe it’s just me, but the world lately seems to be angry and negative. It to me feels like what it must have felt like back in the late thirties, when Hitler was coming into fashion. I wasn’t there, so I am surmising. But whatever is going on right now is not pleasant.
In my own corner of the world, I see shorter tempers and more infighting. I see separation of thoughts about the state of the country. It is so divided, and I do not think that is totally bad. But how people are coping is with anger and supremacy. “It’s my way or the highway.”

I do not want to get too political, but it is hard to have a discussion about tempers without factoring in the current state of affairs in the white house. The current regime is causing great consternation to many folks, me included. And again, not getting political, it is about the treatment of people from the top down. All the inroads we made in the past fifty years seem to be slipping back into the abyss of Bubbahood. Discrimination, ethnic and race issues, and the general treatment of women as whole has taken a downward turn.

For example, Trump’s public treatment of his wife speaks volumes. He left her standing there multiple times during the Inauguration. He sharply spoke to her like a child. I said something about it to my husband and he said I was making too much out of nothing. Two days later, he pulled a similar stunt at a restaurant with me. He loves Trump. I realized that the Bubbahood is how he got elected. They will never see that treating women like an object, disrespecting and publically humiliating her is a big deal. And this will carry forth into the world of work and other areas, if given a chance to get a foothold. Think I am overreacting? Take a look at the legislation Trump signed about withholding money for organizations who even SPEAK about abortions. Where does the Bubbahood get the right to dictate what a female does to her body? Don’t get me started.

stone goddesses

It’s like the world has gone mad with hatred. We are going to build a wall to keep Mexicans out? Can there be dumber idea out there? And the cost; 12 to 15 BILIION dollars? How about we take that money and get rid of the donut hole in Medicare where millions of senior citizens get every year? If you do not know what that is, it is a yearly situation where if your prescription medicine gets to a certain dollar amount, you have to pay full shot for it. And for the geriatric set, getting there is very easy as many older folks have multiple heath issues all requiring medication. Take a look at the cost of diabetic supplies alone. And every year, more people get diagnosed with diabetes. (Mind you, they keep lowering the level of what dictates being diabetic and they will keep doing that as diabetes is big money.) This donut hole lasts until you pay almost $4900.00 out of your own pocket…every year. Folks spend their life having money taken out of their paycheck for SSI and Medicare, which shock upon shock, you also pay for Medicare premiums in retirement, it is not paid for….. only to get hit up for this stupid donut hole. It’s when people start making decisions about whether to eat or get their medicine.  $4900.00 may not seem like a lot, but when your annual SSI income is only $11000.00, it’s everything. But… we are going to have a wall.

Just try arguing that with someone who is a Trump supporter and you see the power of hatred and the Bubbahood come forth. They really believe it will stop illegals. Really? Ever hear of planes? Who is going to watch this stupid wall to keep people from crawling over or under it? Did we not learn anything from the Berlin wall? What about Canada? Do you know how many drug dealers import their products across the border from Canada? There is a huge illegal Asian influx as well. Maybe we should build a wall there too? There are places in NY and Vermont where I have stood in both countries at the same time. Take a look at the 1000 Islands and the St. Lawrence and tell how that would look with a big wall right down the middle.

sunset view

In my own work world, the State showed up on Monday to do a survey. A survey is a loose term for investigation. They are looking for errors, misdeeds, poor decisions, bad documentation and places to recoup money. This is our government at its best. It says, go do your job, but we are going to come after you and often to catch your errors and penalize you. Yes, there is a penalty for errors and they now can demand payment for them. Smart: hit an industry that is losing money daily due to government regulations and then make them pay more. If we have enough, they can shut us down, or take over the agency. I doubt we are that bad, but at one time, the agency was. But it creates an atmosphere of finger pointing and accusations. And yes, I get called out with “where and how was this person trained?” I have to demonstrate compliance. We have required mandated training and it better be documented. I spend countless hours retrieving this verification and so I was not worried when I had to pull fifteen people’s training documentation. But it sets up anxiety. This state survey was on the horizon and promised for a later time frame this year. Something triggered them coming earlier. But for the past year, the threat has been held over everyone’s head. We will find out next week how we did.

side 5-15

So it is at my work, it is out in the small community I live in and it is global. It is the little comments and attitudes that seem more negative. Being in public is abrasive. Driving is defensive. People are suspicious of each other. And it seems to me that everyone thinks that this is ok. It is acceptable to be rude and caustic; under the concept of being “real”. I like people to be honest, but being rude is demonstrating a lack of compassion and empathy for your fellow earthlings. It is Bubbahood.

And yes, this all really bothers me. I feel the energy. Too me, it feels like the air is full of steel wool. I come home worn out and used up. I spend the day putting out fires and calming troubled waters. I do not watch TV, but I like to look at Facebook at night. I see the infighting there. I argue with my husband and we have had screaming matches about Trump. We could not be further apart on the man and his government. There seems to be no escape, no island of peace. I keep holding on that soon, the birds will return and my oasis of a garden will return. Oh, and yes, I have a wall around it.

Comments on: "The Wall" (1)

  1. Hey Jane,

    Written from your heart to express deep concern at the reality of our world. One waits with breath held for what is to come when egoistic beings, puppets hell bent on self-effacement and the acquisition of wealth and power for themselves and the vile elite, are placed into positions of power by a system corrupt from the seed it was flowered from. This is not democracy but tyranny reminiscent of Medieval Europe, the Dark Ages long before Renaissance captured the hearts and minds of those seeking enlightenment. Seems to me Trump and his Power Broking think tank cronies, financed by Banks, Pharmaceutical Companies, Energy companies and Capitalists were absent when enlightenment was handed out. I am not one to scaremonger unnecessarily, but I genuinely feel there will far worse to come when the perfidy of Machiavellian thought manifests its true intentions.

    I work for a non-profit making organisation administering welfare policy within the UK. Where once the welfare state provided for the essential needs of many, now that too has been further eroded by capitalist funded governments and self interest, and the illusion that is preservation of the public purse. It is the same public purse that pays a politician £80,000 for three days work and offers expenses of £300 per day for piers to cross one road and access Whitehall where they can promptly leave the building after having signed in. Morality and ethics now take second place to greed and the evil propensity for power and wealth. The poor, the vulnerable, the needy and the deserving find little support from a Welfare State that was once created to serve the highest ideals. The new god of our time is Money, and the new temples those billion-dollar skyscrapers that carry the names of Banks and Financial Institutions, Pharmaceutical Companies, and other vile profiteering organisations that spin the world for their own pleasure whilst seeking dominion over each and every one of us. I detest them all for what they stand for and the activities they undertake. In a true democracy, politicians and governments, corporate business and global powerhouses should live in fear of their people and not have their people live in fear (and servitude) of them. Collectively we are strong, but divided the people of the world will fall. I have faith in my heart, that there will come a time when creed, colour, sex, race, religion, political persuasion and mindlessness fail to differentiate us, and together the people of the world will rise as one to take back control from the minority.

    If I may Jane, can I leave you with this link to a recent film made available on terrestrial t.v by the filmmaker Adam Curtis. It is called Hypernormalisation. I would encourage its viewing by all who have a discerning mind and seek avenues and pathways towards truth. I hope you may find something in the film to make you think further.

    Take care Jane, and keep a smile on you dial! 🙂

    DN – 29/01/2017

    Like

What do you think?

