A journal of healing

Views from The River

morning2 We are back from my favorite place in the world. No matter how long we go, it is never enough. I took over 600 photos. I am going to share just a few. This particular view is from the porch on our room. It looks down the St. Lawrence towards the 1000 Island Bridge. We are in Alexandria Bay, but on a private spot across from the actual town.  A family owns the Resort and we have been going there for at least ten years. Same room, same time.

morning 1 These are morning shots. There is an abundance of wild life but you have to be in the right frame of mind to see it. When we first got there, I was not in the right frame of mind, and saw no animals, not even geese. By the next morning, my herons, geese, MINK, ospreys and other small animals allowed me to see them. You can see the heron in this shot.

ski 1 The view changes constantly. We do not turn on the TV or play music at all. The silence at first is deafening, which may seem weird. We tune out so much noise everyday, we think. We actually don’t tune it out, we filter it. It still assaults us. When it goes away, you are very aware of the quiet. You also become sensitive when subjected to loud noises again once you are back in the human world. There are sounds here: bird calls and wind and waves of water. Even a chipmunk wrestling with a nut sounds loud.

sky 3 These shots we taken on the same night in succession. The view is never the same.

sky2 My favorite thing to photograph are herons. Every year, there is one that comes to the rock across the cove and sits and fishes. I have hundreds of photos of her. This year, there was a huge heron that invaded her spot across the cove. I took many photos of him too, but it was not the same as the bird I have named Charlene. When we were up in June, I never saw Charlene. When we arrived this visit, I went out on the porch and called for her. Sure enough, she came to her rock that night. However, the big heron I call Babs (Big Ass Bird) fought  with her and she took off.

fight  I saw her a couple of times for a moment and then Babs would claim his territory and off she would go. I was very sad as I have gotten pretty close to this little heron. Babs is very large, over six feet and is sort of craggy looking. My telephoto lens did not do him justice. When viewing him in the binoculars, he looks like a cranky old man.

heron 1 On the last night, I hear the distinct cry of a heron. The squawk was very loud. Sure enough, there was Charlene right below my porch. It was getting very dark but I grabbed my camera and started shooting. She knew I was there. heron2 I followed for a while, and then she took off. I was honored that she had visited. On my way back to the room, she flew back by me, squawking as she passed. She flew and landed right down on the rocks in front of our room. For about an hour, she posed and I took several photos, including with my flash.

night heron 2 She was so close to where I was and she has no fear of me. She went down to where I sit every afternoon and walked around my spot.

Heron 3 She then came back up to me and walked right in front of me. Unfortunately, I am still learning about my camera and struggled to get many great shots.

night heron 3  I was talking to her like I talk to my pets. In all the years we have been coming, there is only one other time I got this close. I do not feed her so there is no particular reason she comes. It was so dark I could not see the settings on my camera well. We visited for over an hour and then she left, squawking her good bye.

flight  Early the next morning, the morning we were leaving, she flew again over me, and squawked a loud good bye. We left four hours later and she did not return.

Comments on: "Views from The River" (1)

  1. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous photos!!!

    Like

What do you think?

