A journal of healing

Dove love; teaching me

empty nest They are gone. They are my dove family. Ever since early spring I have had a dove under my eaves on my porch. We have become patient and tolerant of each other. Now I miss them. They have been gone since Wednesday. I hope she comes back.

I had no idea what she was doing one night as the female flew at me while I was sitting in my chair on the porch. She flew right over my head. I looked up and there was this pile of sticks on the roof of some of my bird houses. There was no way it looked sturdy enough to hold her. Her first mate was David and  he sported this cute little cap of feathers. They took turns every night sitting on the nest.

david and davina    DAVID

Soon, Dudley and Dot made their appearance. How they fit was an amazing feat of architecture.

Dot and Dudley Debbie and Don

Next came Duncan.

Duncan 6-16  His mom left him alone for a very long time. He was either very brave or very scared to fly because he remained in the nest for a few days by himself. We had some thunder storms and the landscaper was working in the yard. They also power washed the roof right above him and he just stayed in the nest. Finally, he left.

cu 3 doves  But they had another family. There are actually four birds in this tiny nest. We named the new chicks Donnie and Debbie. ( Yes I had a theme with the D names) I could walk up to the nest very close and Debbie especially would cock her head to the side as I talked to them, just like a dog does.

donie and debbie  She was so sweet. Her brother would glower at me, but she would follow every word. One night I was singing to them and she fell asleep. It was so cute. Donnie left the nest first but then when I came home from work, Debbie was gone too. I was actually sad and worried because she was so much smaller than her brother. Then on Friday, I saw a small bird just sitting in the grass by herself. I thought, oh no, is she hurt. I walked slowly towards her using my singing voice talking to her as I approached. She just sat there, and cocked her head. As I was about two feet in front of her, she took off and flew up to the tree above me. It was like she was saying, “hi Lady, I ok and look at me go.” I was very happy but I will miss her the most.

Petee   Every night, Petee and Sweetee join me in the garden. They nibble on the bird seed and then often will play for a while. Then, just like cats, they sprawl out on their side or stomachs and just be with me in the garden. The other night, Petee was sitting about two feet from where I put the seed down. He just sat there while I walked up to the spot and put out the food. He never flinched. He knew what was coming. One night, and I did not see any bunnies,  I put the seed down and it was like they were waiting for it. Within a minute, they were there. They live I think under the back deck. There are in and out spots. Funny, the dogs do not really bother with them, unless they run. I think they all enjoy the chase. We have strategic spots where they can get out easily. But they will run past one just to engage the dogs in a run around the yard.

lettuce 7-25  But the little boogers still managed to eat some of my lettuce in spite of the sticks. They nibble the edges. I still have enough for me and them. I do not pull the lettuce out. I just cut it and it grows back. I did not realize this at first but now, I will have lettuce all summer. Of course my water bill is out of this world as I have to water everything almost every night.

I love my garden. I learn so much from it. The doves have taught me that no matter what, life goes on…with you or without. When Dot died, it really hurt to see something so small and lovely be harmed. But isn’t that what happens everywhere in the world?

 

Comments on: "Dove love; teaching me" (2)

  1. I love this post! 🙂 Partly because of the story of the doves. Partly because of the sticks to protect lettuce tip. I had never heard of this!

    Like

    • Thank you. If I did not have the sticks, the bunnies would have cleaned me out. they learned real quick not to go near. It does not harm anything, not the plants, not the soil, except a little poke. But as much as I tried, they still found spots to get in. Oh well.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

