A journal of healing

Too sweet

rhoda 1 2015

I read a post on Facebook this week that made me think. It was the concept that someone’s mother had spent a lifetime devoted to her health with balanced eating and exercise and covering herself with SPF and clothing to protect her skin. And now she had multiple health issues including diabetes and skin cancer. The post encouraged you to enjoy life and not restrict yourself in anyway. I am paraphrasing. The first response to the post was to eat more bacon.

One of my battles has always around diabetes. Since I was in my early twenties, doctors have tested me for diabetes and been stumped that my levels were always low.

10 years ago, I was crippled up with Psoriatic Arthritis. PsA (Psoriatic Arthritis) can hit anyone at any time. The result was I was put on tons of medications to help bring the incredibly high inflammation down. It did, but not without major repercussions. One of the drugs they put me on was prednisone. It shot my A1C glucose levels to 13. The fix at that time was to put me on metformin, which eventually crashed my kidneys. One will never be better than working at 41%.

Azalea 2

I am able to see “My Chart” via the intranet going back to 2011. They put me on a biologic called Enbrel and I was on it for many years. There is a steady incline in my glucose levels for those years.  My weight has not fluctuated in reflection of the A1C levels. When the Enbrel failed (you build up an immunity to it and it stops working) they took me off of it, and my levels started to go back down. I was then put on another biological this early summer, and the levels start to creep up again. That drug caused my blood pressure to go through the roof and so I was taken off of it. And again, the A1C came down. My blood pressure has returned to 120/80.

Three months later, I was put on another drug called Cimzia. I had to give myself injections every two weeks in my gut. I knew after the second week of shots, I was in big trouble. The day after the last shots I decided to take my glucose reading at home and it was 365. I was terribly upset. I monitored the levels for the next weeks and the readings were all over the place with many over 350 but never came back down no matter what I did below 225. I had also gained 11 pounds in less than four weeks.

I stopped the shots. I stopped eating any and all sweets. This was horrible as it was the holidays and I normally bake and make candy. I cut out all bread. I did not eat much pasta and if I did I measured it. No cookies, no candy, no cakes. I lost the 11 pounds faster than it went on. But my glucose or sugars were still horribly high. I discovered that my readings in the morning were the highest. In the afternoon, I was coming down significantly. I had my labs taken and the A1C was 9.3. That was from 7.2 when I was coming off of the Enbrel earlier in the year.

Chives

I will be fighting this diabetic battle for the rest of my life. MY GP is hoping that by putting me on a small dose of Januvia at night, we can lower the morning readings and maybe kick-start my pancreas. He feels the drug(s) may have caused impaired glucose function and the pancreas stops working at night. If I stray from my restrictive diet, I see it immediately in the readings. It is not worth it. I thought I would drop a ton of weight. I am not eating any bread at all and very limited other carbs. I read labels for sugar and discovered that many low fat items have added sugar. For example I eat cottage cheese in the morning instead of no fat yogurt which has a ton of sugar and carbs. My weight has not changed since I loss the 11 pounds. BUT….I am not gaining either.

My point is that we cannot ignore our health like the before mentioned post. If you are over 60 and have no major illnesses, you are truly blessed. Doctors try to help with medicines and many patients will readily pop something in their mouth in order to remedy a malady. But too often drugs do not fix, they mask symptoms. One fix often causes another issue. I am resigned that there probably will be a diagnosis added that will include diabetes mellitus no matter what I do. I am going to fight what I can until my quality of life is such crap that I don’t care. But I am beginning to understand why old people can get crotchety!

 

What do you think?

