A journal of healing

Bariatric Surgery or BS

I had an interesting experience today and I feel right now, not very pleasant. I am going to share it and I will admit right up front, it is taking a lot balls for me to talk about this. I really want people to comment on what I am about to share. I think the opinions will vary and I am asking for honest feedback. I know I am opening myself to a lot of criticism.
So let me explain. I had a horrible day about three weeks ago. I was so upset and scared and I could not stop crying. Silly thing now, as I have no idea why. Just one of those phases I think. But I got on line and started poking around for support groups. I think at least that was what I was looking for. I love to spend hours on Google searching things out. I start with one thing and go off on a completely different direction. I used to sit and read my home version encyclopedia. I think it is why I am such a master of inane information…
I found this website for a therapist who specializes in people with PTSD, trauma issues, eating disorders, family counseling, anxiety and other problems. She offers help with life balance. I thought humdang! Digging in further into her site she talks about mindful eating and body acceptance. I was so thrilled I sent off an email asking for a session. And much as I think that cognitive based therapy can be dangerous with the wrong therapist, I was willing to try again.
I get there five minute before my appointment. I wait in the waiting area for about 2 minutes. I can hear her talking to someone. I thought, ok she is on the phone, so I knocked to signal I was there. She did not answer. I waited again five more minutes and knocked again. She said she would be right out. Ok. She was with someone so I had no problem. Then she gets me, I sit down and her phone went off. She answered it and left me and went to the waiting room to talk for another ten minutes. It is now a half hour into my appointment time of an hour.
She finally comes in and starts to fire off questions. Of course, she is taking a history which I had expected. Some of her questions were weird and some were pretty probing. But I answered honestly. I think it sort of shocked her. We swing around to talk about my weight issue. I am very uncomfortable talking to anyone about my weight, but hey, that was one of the reasons I was there. However, she went right into something I was not expecting.
She went on the charge of why I should have bariatric surgery. I felt myself flush and I had to hold my anger in. This is the second time a Doctor (she is a PhD doctor) has done this. She knows nothing about me except a brief ten minute interview. I started to explain that my medical issues with Factor V Leiden and Psoriatic Arthritis do not make me a candidate. Matter of fact my two GPs have said not it is not a good idea. She did not know what Factor V Leinden is. My bet is she does not understand that PsA is an autoimmune disease and not osteoarthritis.
She starts to tell me all sorts of things about how when you have the surgery your metabolic rate changes. It is different than dieting because you are not restricting food so that the body goes into shut down and hordes calories. I just shook my head. How is it not restricting calories. It most certainly is because you cannot eat a lot of food without getting violently sick. Talk about Pavlovian training. Eat too much and you will get sick. I did my homework on bariatric surgery along with having several friends who did it. They change the capacity of the stomach by constricting it with a band, stapling it or suturing it or totally by-passing it so food goes right in to the small intestine. Oh my good gracious. How does anyone not see this  to be mutilation of some form? I understand that it has helped many people to lose weight when they could not any other way and that is fine for them. But I told her, not for me. I did not come to her because I was desperate to lose weight. Matter of fact, I was more at peace with myself and my body before I went into all this self-evaluation and discovery. It was peace I was looking for and self-acceptance. I would still be troubled if I was a size 3.
She went on to say how she had the surgery and lost all this weight and so forth and so on. She said I will never lose weight, even forty pounds. I was totally turned off. I became a bit brittle and she felt it. When she asked me why I was pulling away, I said I was not interested in bariatric surgery in any manner. She said she would send me some literature. I said fine. We finished our session with a few other things. She set up another appointment, which I am not sure if I will do.
There is a ton of information out there on these barbaric…oops I mean bariatric processes. They all say the same thing. I understand how losing weight can be life-saving. But I also read about the mortality rate and the long term prognosis of it. There are malnutrition and vitamin deficiencies for sure. Hair loss, anemia, major poop and intestinal issues, blood clots, infections and other ramifications are all in the literature down at the bottom. All say the crappiest statement ever invented about how the cure/medicine comes with issues which the doctor or whomever deems worth the risk…. I paraphrased but it is on most medicines and other medical documentation. I want to change it to … “You feeling lucky?”
So again, in search of trying to better myself, I walked away feeling like a failure and disgrace. I am angry. OHHHHHH am I angry. Why is it we can do all this medical research on obesity and yet not find a cure other than mutilation of the digestive system? I read recently a medical journal article that there may be some connection in a T cell formation that maybe linked to obesity. That same rotten cell also has a lot to do with cancer and can you guess…Psoriatic Arthritis or autoimmune disease. Why can they not figure out that what you put into your mouth couple with the output of energy does not always equate with body mass. Yes, for some it is about what they consume. But if it were totally up to that, then everyone who eats McDonalds would be huge. But they aren’t. Only a select group of people consume food quantities which have an impact on their weight. Try explaining that to some doctors….they will laugh at you. If you are obese, you eat too much. Period! BULLSHIT. I am not going to go into a full rant on this right now.
Although I have a ton more to say on this topic, I am getting very upset. I need to go to bed and I am all cranked. If it were up to me, I would wave a magic wand and make everyone in the whole world obese so they can see that is only a body. We attach so much to image that it makes me crazy. Would we stitch a lung closed so smokers won’t crave cigarettes. Would we suture alcoholics mouths closed so they won’t drink? Would we give women with PMS a frontal lobotomy for depression…..which, by the way IS what they used to do to women and not too long ago. Think of that. I guarantee that someday in the future, they will look back at bariatric surgery as pathetically as primitive brain surgery. Hey, we finally figure out putting mercury in our teeth was pretty stupid.
Tell me what you think.

Comments on: "Bariatric Surgery or BS" (5)

  1. I am willing to bet she was some sort of feeder for a bariartic surgery center and did all of their pre-op psych evals. You did some great research and it sounds like surgery is not right for you. It is lifesaving for some and has a place but not to the extent it is being done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know what to say . . . you know yourself better than most, have done the research. Just keep living on YOUR terms. I wouldn’t see this person again, I do not sense any wisdom in her. Peace . . .

    Like

  3. How disappointing, expecting to find a place of hope and growth by dealing with emotions, the spirit and the soul, only to find a pusher for a surgical solution which was never even mentioned. bait and switch?
    I really hate dishonesty, or not being up front about what one is selling. I despise it. Too little character these days and lack of integrity. It’s all about making money and fooling others into spending it, even when it means butchering one’s body which is horrifying. People with tunnel vision like that don’t care about you, they care about themselves and have only one goal, their own.
    I would write a letter and tell her where to stick her PHD, though I may not send it.

    Like

  4. Any time a counselor starts offering major surgery as a solution after nothing more than a 10 minute interview, especially one who is a PhD not an MD, it should raise major red flags. Her actions as you describe seem highly questionable and in violation of the APA code of ethics. I’m sorry you had to go through that. Please don’t go back to her.

    Like

  5. I have heard to many negatives about this surgery. Why not just eat like someone who had surgery without the surgery. I watched my friend that had the surgery. She eats anything she wants, just get sick if she eats too much.
    At 241, I cried out to God for help because I could not stop eating. He answered my prayers with this:
    Eat only three meals a day.
    No snacks.
    Cut your food in half.
    You can eat anything but only half.

    Now I have lost 70 pounds.
    I am 62, old people dont lose you know. I did with Gods help. You need to go to my counselor.

    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Like

What do you think?

